The Maven Editor

Helpful Tips from a Friendly Editor

Hello from the editing trenches December 5, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Ashley Christman @ 7:32 pm

Hi y’all,

Welcome to the blog. The reason this blog exists is to detail my adventures in publishing as an editor.

There are a couple of things you need to know: I am a very nice person, but as an editor, sometimes my authors don’t like me because I make them do things like (gasp) kill their darlings. Its not my intention to destroy an author’s opus, but only bad writers don’t see that  editing does a manuscript good.

I will chronicle the good, the bad, and the ugly about my thoughts as an editor and out of respect, I will never disclose the names or titles of manuscripts or authors. Instead, I will focus on the broad and often repeated things I see. So rather than put negative gossip out there, this blog will hopefully help aspiring authors by giving you a little taste of what goes through mine and many other editor’s heads.

Buckle up, dear reader, its going to be fun.

 

Leave a Reply

